

Adoption Resolution July 1, 2020

Resolution to Honor Commissioner Lamont O. Repollet, Ed.D.

Whereas, Dr. Lamont O. Repollet has served with distinction as the New Jersey Commissioner of Education from January 2018 to the present and is being honored for his distinguished tenure of service; and

Whereas, as Commissioner, Dr. Repollet demonstrated his heartfelt concern for the education and welfare of students by visiting more than 150 schools throughout all 21 counties to speak directly with students, parents and educators to receive their feedback on New Jersey's public education system; and

Whereas, Dr. Repollet shifted the perception of the New Jersey Department of Education from being compliance driven by extending an olive branch with his "boots on the ground" approach to school district, school and educator supports; and

Whereas, Dr. Repollet played a leading role in the management of the expansion of high-quality preschool programs across New Jersey, the increase of career and technical education opportunities for thousands of students, including the introduction of the P-TECH model at four New Jersey high schools, the development of Computer Science for All programs in numerous school districts, as well as the equitable distribution of millions of dollars in new State aid from 2018-2020 to help school districts provide each and every student with high quality education regardless of their zip code; and

Whereas, Dr. Repollet's steadfast commitment to providing educational equity led the Department to develop policies and initiatives to address inequities that create barriers to student success, to focus on a continued analysis of what all students need and the best methods to provide students with equitable access to the necessary supports for learning and social emotional well-being; and

Whereas, Dr. Repollet's unwavering belief in collaboration, consensus building and problem solving has led to the implementation of innovative initiatives, such as the Amistad Journey, Connected Action Roadmap (CAR) model implementation, and Unified Sports Program, and significant improvements to the New Jersey Student Learning Standards; and

Whereas, Dr. Repollet's focus on the importance of diversifying New Jersey's teacher workforce and his recognition of the benefits that a diverse teaching corps presents for students and for the profession has enabled school districts to have access to, and students to be taught by, well-trained, effective educators who meet the particular needs of local communities; and

Whereas, through innovative and system-driven initiatives, Dr. Repollet led the Department to hold the distinguished honor of being named by *Education Week* in September 2019 as the best education system in the nation; and

Whereas, throughout the COVID-19 pandemic, Dr. Repollet helped New Jersey's educators and students navigate the challenges of transitioning to remote learning and diligently worked to ensure that our school communities continue to receive the supports necessary to move through this unprecedented time and safely move to reopen schools; and

Whereas, as Commissioner, Dr. Repollet provided critical guidance and leadership to the Newark Public School District during the two-year transition period that successfully enabled the school district to fulfill its plan to return to full local control after 25 years under State intervention; and

Whereas, Dr. Repollet is resigning his post as the New Jersey Commissioner of Education to become the 18th President of Kean University; now therefore be it

Resolved, that it is both fitting and proper that the New Jersey State Board of Education express its sincere gratitude to Dr. Lamont O. Repollet for his dedicated leadership as Commissioner, which was exemplified by the collegial manner in which he worked with the State Board and all

stakeholders to provide a challenging, nurturing learning environment for all students; and be it further

Resolved, that the New Jersey State Board of Education hereby honors Dr. Lamont O. Repollet for his esteemed record of service to the State and extends best wishes for success and happiness in his new endeavor.

Kathy Goldenberg, President	Andrew Mulvihill, Vice President	Arcelio Aponte
Ronald K. Butcher, Ph.D.	Ernest Lepore, Ph.D.	Jack Fornaro
Mary Beth Berry	Mary Beth Gazi	Nedd J. Johnson, Sr., Ed.D.
Sylvia Sylvia	Joseph J. Ricca, Jr., Ed.D.	Fatimah Burnam-Watkins
Elaine Bobrove		